Resin Illuminati
 
Go Back   Resin Illuminati > Works in Progress > Figures

Figures Figure WIPs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2010, 02:40 PM
toonarmy's Avatar
toonarmy toonarmy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 148
toonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nice
Default resistors

can anyone help me find the right level of resistor for my Ironman kit.It has 6 leds rated at 8000mcd(white)in parallel running of 2 AA batteries.The one in now is heating the battery pack up.Need to sort this out before finally assembly.
I was using one with brown/black/red/gold bands in that order.soldered to the + lead.Hope you can help(in laymans terms please)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2010, 02:44 PM
USS Atlantis's Avatar
USS Atlantis USS Atlantis is offline
Experimenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN Area
Posts: 874
USS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of AllUSS Atlantis Overlord Master of All
Default Re: resistors

To get the resistor value I need two things

Voltage of the LEDs
current draw of the LEDs

The one you're using is currently 1000ohm (1k)

Probably a little high, will dim the LED's but shouldn't heat the batteries unless you connected the LEDs backwards - but then then they wouldn't light up

HMMMM
__________________
Atlantis (Ken)
---------------------------------------

My Blog

RI - Where threads go to get fucked

Last edited by USS Atlantis; 10-24-2010 at 02:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2010, 07:28 PM
feek61's Avatar
feek61 feek61 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 86
feek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to beholdfeek61 is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: resistors

The Wiz will tell you everything you need to know.

Look here:
http://led.linear1.org/led.wiz

Last edited by feek61; 10-25-2010 at 07:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2010, 08:01 PM
nickn nickn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 830
nickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud ofnickn has much to be proud of
Default Re: resistors

Well, most LED's use about 3.2 volts..depends though.. Current draw is about 25ma..
so for a Single LED/Resistor,

12volt - 3.2volt = 8.8 / .025A (25ma) = ~350 Ohms (330)
9 volt - 3.2 = 5.8 / .025 A = ~232Ohms (220)

At anyrate, the wizard thing does all the math for you.. Forward Voltage is the 3.2 mentioned.. Diode foward current is the 25ma.. Wattage you want to pay attention too..Putting a 1/4 watt resistor where a 1 watt resistor should go results in a very very hot resistor.. which could easily burn up or catch fire.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2010, 11:49 PM
toonarmy's Avatar
toonarmy toonarmy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 148
toonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nicetoonarmy is just really nice
Default Re: resistors

Took the leds left over back to Maplins(our radio shack) and was told that the bag of 6 LEds i bought was a "lucky bag".All mixed voltage despite being all 8000mcd.There is no mention on the packet and they all look identical.How dumb is that.
I'm just going to install a push to close switch.so the lights only come on for a few seconds.
Thanks for the info guys.I'll know better next time
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 AM.

Developed by ForumThemes.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.